Nativity Prep Academy, San Diego – Graduating Class, 2015transparent-20

The Thomas C. Ackerman Foundation

The Thomas C. Ackerman Foundation was founded on August 6, 1991 and fueled by the substantial assets received from the Thomas C. Ackerman estate.  The Board of Directors was assembled, fully constituted, and put into place, while the guidelines and objectives for grant making were adopted.  The purpose for the Foundation, as set forth in its bylaws, is broad based in focus and with a clear mandate that consideration is given to qualified organizations within the San Diego community which Mr. Ackerman expressed an interest in during his lifetime and illustrious career.

Therefore, the Foundation has a keen interest and focus on K-12 education, arts, and music while fostering the continuing economic development of San Diego.  There is a practical recognition that local San Diego based non-profit groups have a small universe to choose from in obtaining funding within our community and we seek to be a local solution to that challenge.

The Foundation has developed a general policy to provide funds or incentive grants for projects which eventually become self-sustaining or for which other sources of funds may later be obtained.  The Board does not provide continuous support for any project to the extent that the project becomes dependent on the Foundation for its existence.   However, the Board may choose in some cases to make multi-year commitments where this need has been determined and is compelling.

In general terms, the Foundation does not support conferences or symposiums.   The grants are also broadly nonsectarian in nature; while occasional support is extended to a religious organization, it is not intended for promoting a particular religion or belief.  There will be no consideration for grants relating to human medical or biomedical research.


Neville Billimoria, SVP Membership[/Chief Advocacy Officer, Mission Federal Credit Union

H. Michael Collins, Retired Investment Advisor

Robert G. Copeland, Partner, Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

Kenneth G. Coveney, Partner, Dostart, Hannink & Coveney LLP

Alexis Dixon, Principal, Mediation Solution, Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

Linde Hotchkiss, ARM, Managing Partner, Willis Insurance Services of CA, Inc.

Bryn Kirvin, Deputy District Attorney, San Diego County

Gail K. Naughton, Ph.D., CEO, Chairman of the Board, Histogen, Inc.

George Ramirez, Chief Diversity Officer, Union Bank, Retired, George A. Ramirez Leadership Dev. & Bus. Strategies

Saran Wiggins, MBA, THRP, Vice President, Tribal and Gaming Practice Leader, Willis Towers Watson


Richard A. Burt, Partner, Gray Cary Ware & Friedenrich, LLP (Dec’d)

Terrence R. Caster, Chairman, Caster Enterprises,.and A-1 Self Storage; Co-founder Serving Hands

Christopher C. Calkins, CEO, Carltas Company

Arthur E. Hughes, President Emeritus, University of San Diego, (Dec’d)

William McCurine, U.S. Magistrate Judge, Retired, Mediator

Joanne M. Pastula, President/CEO, Junior Achievement of San Diego, Retired

John G. Rebelo, San Diego Market Chairman, Retired, U.S.Bank


Robert G. Copeland, President
Kenneth G. Coveney, Vice President
H. Michael Collins, Treasurer


Lynne Newman


Cooper & Associates, APC


Dostart, Hannink & Coveney, LLP


Charles Schwab & Co.